About The Council

Blyth Town Council was inaugurated in April 2009 following Local Government negotiations with Northumberland County Council. The first election to the Council was held on 4th June 2009. The Town Council was formed to fill a democratic deficit left on the creation of the newly-formed unitary authority Northumberland County Council. This had replaced the previous Northumberland County Council and six district councils within the county, one of which was Blyth Valley Borough Council. The representation consists of sixteen councillors divided among eight wards, namely:

• Cowpen • Croft • Isabella • Kitty Brewster • Newsham • Plessey • South Blyth • Wensleydale


Please find attached the direct link to the Ordnance Survey’s interactive map covering the ward boundaries of Northumberland (including Blyth):