

BLYTH TOWN COUNCIL

Minutes of a Meeting of the Community Funding Sub Committee

held in the Council Chamber at Arms Evertyne House on Tuesday 4 June 2019 at 6.30 pm.

Present:

Councillors: K Nisbet (Chair), J R Potts, O Potts, M Richardson, L Rickerby, W Taylor

Apologies: Councillors: A Cartie, S Stanger

Also present: Councillor G Thompson

Officers:

Malcolm Wilkinson, Deputy Town Clerk Alison McCabe, Office Manager Maureen Hawthorne, Committee Clerk

PART II

Pursuant to the Public Bodies (Admission to Meetings) Act 1960; that in view of the confidential nature of the business about to be transacted, it is advisable in the public interest that the press and public be excluded and they are instructed to withdraw.

Discussion and Decision Regarding Funding Applications

Headway Arts

Some concern was raised about the organisation applying for a grant for core funding. It was noted that staff costs are high, with 70% of their income going on salaries. Members agreed that in future applicants will be expected to provide a clear breakdown of staffing levels and costs as it would be helpful in terms of transparency.

Following discussion it was agreed to award a grant of **£10,000.**

)

Cowpen Quay Community Association

Discussion took place as to the services provided by the Centre and consideration was given to the available reserves the Association have at present.

Following discussion it was agreed to award a grant of **£10,000.**

Isabella Community Association

Councillor J R Potts and Councillor O Potts left the meeting whilst a discussion took place.

Following discussion it was agreed to award a grant of **£25,000.**

Members agreed that if they have specific questions in future they will ask Officers to contact organisations and request the information before the Committee meets. Members also debated whether there was a need to change the policy, however, it was decided that it would not be appropriate to do so mid-way through the year.

Members of the Community Development Committee

K Nisbet (Chair) A Cartie (Vice-Chair) D Carr J R Potts O Potts M Richardson L Rickerby S Stanger W Taylor

)