About The Council

Blyth Town Council Crest LogoBlyth Town Council was inaugurated in April 2009 following Local Government negotiations with Northumberland County Council. The first election to the Council was held on 4th June 2009. The Town Council was formed to fill a democratic deficit left on the creation of the newly-formed unitary authority Northumberland County Council. This had replaced the previous Northumberland County Council and six district councils within the county, one of which was Blyth Valley Borough Council. The representation consists of sixteen councillors divided among eight wards, namely:

• Cowpen • Croft • Isabella • Kitty Brewster • Newsham • Plessey • South Blyth • Wensleydale

Blyth Town Council Responsibilities

  • Allotments
  • Play Areas
  • Litter Bins
  • Bus Shelters
  • Festive Lights and Events
  • Public Seats
  • War Memorials
  • Community Grants
  • Defibrillators
  • Speed Sensors
  • Good Citizen Awards
  • Community Grants
  • Blyth in Bloom


In addition to Full Council, there are three main Committees, which are the Community Development, Environment Committee and Governance Committee. The responsibilities of these Committees are as follows:

Community Development: Community Grants, Events and Planning

Environment Committee: Allotments and Environmental Services 

Governance: Finance, Policy Working Group, Staffing and Complaints.

Ward Maps

Please find attached the direct link to the Ordnance Survey’s interactive map covering the ward boundaries of Northumberland (including Blyth):


Blyth Partnership Working Zones

The work carried out by Northumberland County Council under the Partnership Agreement is split into 3 Areas, with each area being split into 6 zones. Work is carried out in 3 Zones which alternate on a fortnightly basis.

Please see the 3 Maps below of the Areas.