Community

Community Banner Detailing Blyth Town Council Logo

Please note - due to the ongoing COVID-19 situation, Blyth Town Council events are cancelled until further notice. Please also check with the specific community groups as due to government advice - any events or meetings may also be cancelled or postponed.

Blyth Community Volunteers

Click here to visit Blyth Community Volunteers’ Facebook page (Opens in a new window)

Meet in the car park of the Town Council offices (Arms Evertyne House) or catch us in the Market Place - look out for the banner.  Equipment will be taken to the Market Place and sanitised but please bring gardening-type gloves if you have them.

Litter picking is back!

Blyth Community Volunteers have organised the following dates for litter picks and would love for you to join them. Click the link below to see the scheduled dates (Saturdays and Tuesdays)

Click here to view the dates of litter picks for 2022 (opens in a new window)


Religious holidays and other events 2022

The information listed below may not be definitive and if there are any other listings that you think should be published then please click here to contact us by email.

Holiday date Holiday name Holiday Type
Sat, January 1 New Year’s Day Bank Holiday
Mon, January 3 New Year’s Day observed Bank Holiday
Mon, January 3 New Year’s Day Holiday Bank Holiday
Thu, January 6 Epiphany Christian
Fri, January 7 Orthodox Christmas Day Orthodox
Fri, January 14 Orthodox New Year Orthodox
Mon, January 17 Tu B’Shevat (Arbor Day) Jewish Holiday
Thu, January 27 International Day of Commemoration in memory of
the victims of the Holocaust
Observance
Tue, February 1 Chinese New Year Observance
Mon, February 14 Valentine’s Day Observance
Tue, March 1 Isra and Mi’raj Muslim
Tue, March 1 Carnival/Shrove Tuesday Christian
Wed, March 2 Carnival/Ash Wednesday Christian
Thu, March 17 Purim Jewish Holiday
Sun, March 20 March equinox Season
Sun, March 27 Daylight Saving Time starts Clock Change/daylight Saving Time
Sun, March 27 Mothering Sunday Observance
Sun, April 3 Ramadan Start Muslim
Sun, April 10 Palm Sunday Christian
Thu, April 14 Maundy Thursday Christian
Fri, April 15 Good Friday Bank Holiday
Sat, April 16 Holy Saturday Christian
Sat, April 16 First day of Passover Jewish Holiday
Sun, April 17 Easter Sunday Observance, Christian
Fri, April 22 Orthodox Good Friday Orthodox
Fri, April 22 Stephen Lawrence Day Observance
Sat, April 23 Last day of Passover Jewish Holiday
Sat, April 23 Orthodox Holy Saturday Orthodox
Sat, April 23 St. George’s Day Observance
Sat, April 23 Shakespeare Day Observance
Sun, April 24 Orthodox Easter Orthodox
Mon, April 25 Orthodox Easter Monday Orthodox
Thu, April 28 Yom HaShoah Jewish Commemoration
Thu, April 28 Laylatul Qadr (Night of Power) Muslim
Mon, May 2 Early May Bank Holiday Bank Holiday
Tue, May 3 Eid ul Fitr Muslim
Thu, May 5 Yom HaAtzmaut Jewish Holiday
Thu, May 19 Lag B’Omer Jewish Holiday
Thu, May 26 Ascension Day Christian
Mon, May 30 Spring Bank Holiday Bank Holiday
Sun, June 5 Pentecost Christian
Sun, June 5 Shavuot Jewish Holiday
Mon, June 6 Whit Monday Christian
Sat, June 11 Queen’s Birthday Observance
Sun, June 12 Trinity Sunday Christian
Thu, June 16 Corpus Christi Christian
Sun, June 19 Father’s Day Observance
Tue, June 21 June Solstice Season
Wed, June 22 Windrush Day Observance
Sun, July 10 Eid ul Adha Muslim
Sat, July 30 Muharram/Islamic New Year Muslim
Mon, August 1 Yorkshire Day Multiple Types
Sun, August 7 Tisha B’Av Jewish Holiday
Mon, August 8 Ashura Muslim
Thu, August 11 Raksha Bandhan Hindu Holiday
Mon, August 15 Assumption of Mary Christian
Tue, August 30 Ganesh Chaturthi Hindu Holiday
Fri, September 23 September equinox Season
Mon, September 26 Rosh Hashana Jewish Holiday
Sat, October 1 Black History Month Observance
Tue, October 4 Feast of St Francis of Assisi Christian
Wed, October 5 Yom Kippur Jewish Holiday
Sat, October 8 Milad un Nabi (Mawlid) Muslim
Mon, October 10 First day of Sukkot Jewish Holiday
Sun, October 16 Hoshana Rabbah Jewish Holiday
Mon, October 17 Shemini Atzeret Jewish Holiday
Tue, October 18 Simchat Torah Jewish Holiday
Tue, October 25 Diwali/Deepavali Observance
Sun, October 30 Daylight Saving Time ends Clock Change/daylight Saving Time
Mon, October 31 Halloween Observance
Tue, November 1 All Saints’ Day Christian
Wed, November 2 All Souls’ Day Christian
Sat, November 5 Guy Fawkes Day Observance
Fri, November 11 Remembrance Day Observance
Sun, November 13 Remembrance Sunday Observance
Sun, November 27 First Sunday of Advent Observance
Thu, December 8 Feast of the Immaculate Conception Christian
Mon, December 19 First Day of Hanukkah Jewish Holiday
Wed, December 21 December Solstice Season
Sat, December 24 Christmas Eve Observance
Sun, December 25 Christmas Day Bank Holiday
Mon, December 26 Last day of Hanukkah Jewish Holiday
Mon, December 26 Boxing Day Bank Holiday
Tue, December 27 Substitute Bank Holiday for Christmas Day Bank Holiday
Sat, December 31 New Year’s Eve Observance

Virtual Tour of LV50 - Royal Northumberland Yacht Club

Royal Northumberland Yacht Club have been busy creating a “virtual” tour of LV50 and also linking with local schools to create some really exciting online learning opportunities that are aligned to the national curriculum.  RNYC took the opportunity to inform the National Historic Ships organisation and we are really excited that we have won the award of a Flagship of the Year 2021.

 

The link to the tour is  https://friendsoflv50.org.uk/tour.htm


Bridge Northumberland - Free Support/TrainingBridge Northumberland - Eflyer

Bridge Northumberland is a voluntary programme to help people living in Northumberland who are out of work and aged 16+ to overcome barriers to training, education and work.

Bridge welcome referrals and want to support as many people as possible with their fully funded free programme.

Support is FREE if you are:

-  Age 16+ & Living in Northumberland
- Not in education, employment or training

Text or call - 07818 511689
Email - bridgereferral@northumberlandcva.org.uk
Refer yourself via Bridge’s website.


Wild Oysters Project

Local Delivery Partner for England: Groundwork North East & Cumbria

Wider Partnership: Zoological Society of London, BLUE Marine Foundation, British Marine

The Wild Oysters Project is a marine restoration project, which aims to restore native oysters back to self-sustaining levels in UK seas, which in turn will provide clean water, healthy fisheries, and plentiful biodiversity.

Why should we restore native oysters?

Native oyster numbers have declined by 95% since the mid-1800s due to over-harvesting, habitat loss, pollution and disease. This has resulted in native oyster reefs being classified as the most threatened marine habitat in Europe. Here in North East England, there are no remaining oyster reefs.

Oysters provide key ecosystem services including improving water quality by increasing water clarity and removing excessive nutrients. Healthy oyster beds are hugely productive, with a rich biodiversity of associated species, having a positive effect on the health of the entire ecosystem, including building resilience to climate change.

Where will you be working to restore oysters?

This project will create rehabilitation hubs across the UK to secure national ecosystem recovery of native oysters and the services they provide.

In North East England, we have the Tyne & Wear hub, leading the restoration efforts for the project in England. A further two hubs are located in Scotland and Wales.

How are you planning to restore oysters?

There are two major barriers to oyster recovery: i) low number of oysters left in the wild to reproduce, ii) lack of suitable habitat available for oyster reefs to form and thrive.

To get more oysters back into the coastal system, our Tyne & Wear oyster rehabilitation hub hosts 47 oyster nurseries over two estuarine sites – Port of Blyth, and Sunderland Marina. The oyster nurseries are microhabitats, each containing 27 mature oysters, which will reproduce and release oyster larvae. Over the 3-year project, these nurseries will release over 3 billion larvae into the North Easts coastal waters.

We will also rehabilitate areas of the seabed nearby, to better suit oyster larvae settlement requirements. This might involve adding a layer of cultch (hard substrate such as gravels and old shells) to the seabed in locations we think our released larvae will reach.

Public Engagement & Education

Our restoration hubs are located where there were once thriving oyster fisheries, and oysters were once a part of local culture. To reignite the public’s emotional and cultural attachment to oysters, we will engage local communities to help care for the oyster nurseries, whilst educating them about the ecological significance of our oyster.

Our scientists will be monitoring our oyster nurseries and reefs to track the positive impact our interventions are having on local marine biodiversity, and sharing our experiences to encourage others to contribute to this systemic change. We hope this monitoring will be supported by our local citizen scientists.

Image Credits: Ashleigh Tinlin-Mackenzie, BLUE Marine.

To get involved:

Email - wild.oysters@zsl.org – add Tyne & Wear to the subject line

To follow our progress:

Twitter - @Wild_Oysters

Instagram – @wild_oysters_project

Website - https://wild-oysters.org/

Gerald Legg - Oyster Image   BLUE Marine Monitoring Oyster Nursery   

Image Credits (left to right) - Gerald Legg, BLUE Marine, ZSL, 


Lost, Found and Told - New Audio Tales for NorthumberlandNovember Club Morpeth Logo

Free to residents of Blyth thanks to funding from Blyth Town Council

Local performing arts company November Club are delighted to bring you Lost Found and Told, a collection of seven original short stories written by Fiona Ellis, set in the border county of Northumberland.

Lost, Found and Told is inspired by traditional fairy tales and draws on the rich heritage and landscape of Northumberland. Originally conceived as a live performance, Covid-19 restrictions has transformed it into an audio production.

With original music from Katie Doherty woven throughout, Lost Found and Told promises to enchant and captivate the whole family. Listen at home in the comfort of your living room or grab your headphones and head to the heart of Northumberland and walk and listen to the tales right where the action happens. This works for some of the stories better than others.

Blyth Town Council awarded a Community Grant towards the project as the live production would have been performed in Blyth.  With the change of plan to an audio production, this funding now means that residents of Blyth can access the stories for free. Email info@novemberclub.org.uk or send @NovemberClubMorpeth a direct message on Facebook if you are a resident of Blyth, including your full postcode.

You will be sent a unique code to access the tales for free.  

Lost Found and Told is suitable for children age 8+ but younger (and older!) family members will enjoy listening to the tales as well. 

Click here for more information (Opens in a new window)


Carers Northumberland

We would like to let you know about an exciting project delivered by Carers Northumberland to support unpaid Carers in our community access employment, training and/or education.

Click here for more information (Opens in a new window)

 


SILX Employability Project & Teen Bar

Silx Employability Project Blyth Logo

Do you know someone aged between 16-25?

Do they need support with housing, budgeting, benefits, debt, CV enhancements, work experience or volunteering?

Silx have been advised National Youth Agency that one to one provision can be maintained by appointment only which is COVID-19 safe.

We can provide free online courses - support with CV’s - Cover Letters - Job Search - plus help and support with benefit advice.

We can also offer virtual support by email, Zoom - facetime. If you need any help or support

Please contact 01670 351356 or email silxteen@aol.com

Click here to visit the Silx Employability Project Facebook Page (Opens in a new window)
 


Newsham & New Delaval Youth Forum

Newsham Youth Forum - Click here to view more information (Opens in a new window)Based in Newsham Pavillion - Youth Provision for people aged 11-19 - variety of activities, including arts, outdoor sports, health workshops and cooking skills for young people.

Click here for more information and contact details.


Blyth Cricket Club

Blyth Cricket Club is at the heart of our community, inspiring and influencing the growth, quality accessibility of cricket in our area.

The club has a number of teams from Under 9’s age group, girls, womens and adults. Coaching is available for all members.

All ages and abilities are welcome to join the club.

Contact info@blythcc.org for more information

Or find them on Facebook via “Blyth Bobcats”


Contact Us to Appear Here Banner

Blyth Town Council would like to promote any community interests on this page.

Contact us via email if you have any submissions, info@blythtowncouncil.org.uk