

BLYTH TOWN COUNCIL

Minutes of the Governance Committee held at 6.30 pm on Thursday 29 September 2022 in the Council Chamber, Arms Evertyne House, Blyth, NE24 2AS.

Present:

Councillors: J R Potts (Chair), D Carr, A Cartie, G Davey, S Davey, K Nisbet, M Richardson, S Stanger, A Watson

Also Present:

Officers:

J Hughes, Town Clerk M Wilkinson, Deputy Town Clerk Maureen Hawthorne, Committee Clerk

Other Attendees: - 0 Members of the Public - 0

Minute No	
1	Apologies for Absence
	Councillor C Jones, J Reid, W Taylor
2	Disclosure Interests and Grant of Dispensations
	None
3	Minutes of the Governance Committee held on Thursday 12 May 2022
	The minutes were noted as a true record.
4	Actions arising from the Previous Minutes
	None.

5	Budget Monitoring – All Committees
	Members noted the following:
	Budget Monitoring Statement
	2. Bank Reconciliation
6	Interim Internal Audit Report 2022/23
	Members considered the following and RESOLVED to recommend to Council for approval.
	 Audit Controls & Tests Interim Audit Checklist Interim Audit Letter
	Members extended thanks to the Auditor for a very clear piece of work and asked for a letter of thanks to be sent.
7	Completion of External Audit Return 2021/22
	Members noted the above and the fact there were no issues raised.
8	External Audit Arrangements 2023/24 onwards
	Councillor G Davey moved that the Council continue with the
	current External Auditor, this was seconded by Councillor Nisbet and the motion was carried.
9	Information Report
	Members note the report with regards to Investments.
10	Delegated Actions
	There were no delegated actions.
11	Any Other Business
	There was no other business to consider.
12	Date & Time of Next Meeting
	The next meeting of the Governance Committee on Tuesday 10 January at 6.30 pm.

13 Part II

Pursuant to the Public Bodies (Admission to Meetings) Act 1960; that in view of the confidential nature of the business about to be transacted, it is advisable in the public interest that the press and public excluded, and they are instructed to withdraw.

Members of the Governance Committee

J R Potts (Chair)

W Taylor (Vice Chair)

D Carr

A Cartie

G Davey

S Davey

B Erskine

C Jones

K Nisbet

J Reid

M Richardson

S Stanger

A Watson