

BLYTH TOWN COUNCIL

Minutes of the Governance Committee held at 6.00 pm on Thursday 27 April 2023 in the Council Chamber, Arms Evertyne House, Blyth, NE24 2AS.

Present:

Councillors: J R Potts (Chair), W Taylor (Vice-Chair), D Carr, A Cartie, B Erskine, C Jones, K Nisbet, J Reid, M Richardson, S Stanger, A Watson

Also Present: Councillor M Robson

Officers: J Hughes, Town Clerk, M Wilkinson, Deputy Town Clerk, M

Hawthorne, Committee Clerk

Other Attendees: -0 Members of the Public -1

Minute No	
1	Apologies for Absence
	Councillors: G Davey, S Davey
2	Disclosure Interests and Grant of Dispensations
	None
3	Minutes of the Special Governance Committee held on Thursday 13 April 2023
	The minutes were noted as a true record.
4	Actions arising from the Previous Minutes
	None.

5 **Decision Report** Committee confirmed the financial situation following the completion of accounts 2022/2023 – Review of Out-turn against Probable 2022/23. Committee approved the documents listed in connection with Annual Governance and Accountability Return 2022/2023 prior to approval off Full Council and before submission to the External Auditor: 1. Council's Internal Auditor's Report 2. Annual Internal Audit Report 2022/2023 3. Annual Governance Statement 2022/2023 4. Accounting Statements for 2022/2023 **Appointment of Internal Auditor 2023/24** Members agreed to appoint Mike Slaughter as Internal Auditor for a further year. **Delegated Actions** 6 There were no delegated actions. 7 **Any Other Business** There was no other business to consider. 8 **Date & Time of Next Meeting** The next meeting of the Governance Committee will be held on Thursday 13 July 2023 at 6.30 pm in the Council Chamber, Arms Evertyne House. 9 Part II Pursuant to the Public Bodies (Admission to Meetings) Act 1960; that in view of the confidential nature of the business about to be transacted, it is advisable in the public interest that the press and public excluded, and they are instructed to

withdraw.

Members of the Governance Committee

- J R Potts (Chair)
- W Taylor (Vice Chair)
- D Carr
- A Cartie
- G Davey
- S Davey
- B Erskine
- C Jones
- K Nisbet
- J Reid
- M Richardson
- S Stanger
- A Watson